Board of Directors

A unique aspect of a Federally Qualified Health Center is that it must be governed by a community board composed of a majority (51% or more) of health center patients who represent the population served. The Cherry Health Governing Board of Directors define and preserve the mission of the organization, while serving as the voice of the community.

Back row, from left to right: Scott Alfree, Angela VanderHulst, David Smith, Marshall Suttles (former board member), Hal Overly, Allen Ten Hoor, Richard Stevens, R. Paul Clodfelder, S. Russ Kinyon (former board member), Kimberly Lavender

Front row, from left to right: Doretha Copeland, Maggie McGuinness, Melissa LaGrand, Carol Dickinson, Allison Swets, Carolyn Avery, Jan English, Ziyadah Shakir

Absent: Renee Pardon, Elizabeth Triezenberg, Michael Wood, Barbara Wybrecht

2016-17 Cherry Health Governing Board of Directors

David Smith, President
The Employers’ Association
Kimberly Lavender*
Kimberly B. Lavender, LLC
Scott Alfree, Vice President
Varnum LLP
Renee Pardon*
Lockhart Tax Professionals
Melissa LaGrand*, Treasurer
Ziyadah Shakir
State of Michigan, Dept. of Human Services
Maggie McGuinness*, Secretary
Richard Stevens
Association for the Blind & Visually Impaired
Hal Overly*, Director-at-Large
Retired Accountant
Allison Swets
Registered Nurse
Carolyn Avery, Past President
Retired Adminstrator
Allen Ten Hoor
Retired Corporate Executive
R. Paul Clodfelder
Retired Physician, Cherry Health (1995 – 2008)
Elizabeth Triezenberg*
Doretha Copeland*
Kentwood Community Church
Angela VanderHulst*
Michigan ERN
Carol Dickinson*
Homemaker, Tutor, Custodian
Michael Wood
Retired Health Care Administrator
Jan English*
Retired Communications Manager
Barbara Wybrecht*
Retired Pediatric and Public Health Nurse

*Denotes patient representative